We are taking the threat of COVID-19 very seriously. Click here to find out what our firm is doing.

Brooksville Motorcycle Accident Attorney :: Biker Killed in Three-Car Crash on S.R. 50

216778_rider.jpgA 60-year-old motorcyclist was killed Thursday night after a three-car crash ejected her from her 2003 Harley Davidson Thursday night.

Two others are in critical condition.

Reports indicate that a Brooksville woman driving a 1996 Mercury Sable turned left in front of two motorcycles around 7:25 p.m. causing a collision with both bikes.

The 64-year-old man and 60-year-old woman on the other motorcycle were taken to Bayonet Point Hospital, where they were listed in critical condition. They were both wearing helmets.

According to reports, the deceased was not wearing a helmet.

The driver of the Mercury was not injured.

The crash remains under investigation.

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration and the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, there were a total of 8,577 motorcycle accidents in 2010. Of those, 2,700 resulted in a devastating injury or fatality. Due to the fact that motorcycles offer very little protection to riders, even a minor accident can result in severe and debilitating injuries to riders and passengers.
There are two types of motorcycle licenses that can be obtained in Florida. The first type is an Endorsement License, which applies only to those who already possess a valid Florida driver’s license. The second type, a Motorcycle Only License, can be obtained by the those 16 years or older that have held a learners permit for one year without receiving a traffic ticket conviction or those 18 and older that have passed the standard class E operates licenses and finished the Basic Riders Course developed by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. The state of Florida requires every new motorcyclist to successfully pass The Basic Rider Course through Florida’s Rider Training Program before they can receive a valid motorcycle license or obtain a motorcycle endorsement.

Helmet laws in the state of Florida allow motorcyclists over the age of 21 to ride without a helmet as long as they have at least $10,000 in medical benefits for injuries that occur as a result of a collision while driving a motorcycle. The Hernando County motorcycle accident injury lawyers at Whittel & Melton understand this law, but believe that the roads of Brooksville, Spring Hill, Ridge Manor, Weeki Wachee, Hernando Beach, Masaryktown and throughout the rest of Florida are just too dangerous to travel without the added safety of a helmet. We urge riders of all experience levels to purchase a helmet before making an excursion on a motorcycle. Helmets can prevent catastrophic injuries and save lives.

If you or someone you love has been injured or killed in a motorcycle accident anywhere in Hernando County, contact a Brooksville Motorcycle Crash Attorney at Whittel & Melton online or call 352-666-2121.

Contact Information